knits by sachi

Update on Safari book

on February 19, 2014

I received another draft from my editor. I think this will be the last for the Safari book.

IMG_0550

It has been a long, but fantastic journey. It is the best thing happened to my life apart from the births of my sons. Well, my book is my child, too.

After the photos, drawings and texts are laid out nicely, the book gets “styled”.

When I saw the draft in December, I thought the book looked great and there wouldn’t be much to do to it any further, but I was wrong. My designer has done an amazing job and I could see the clear difference.

My book is looking very proper.

I had made an request to insert footprints of each animal page. I made this request rather casually without giving it much thought, but it turned out to be a quite demanding task to research animal footprints and style them. I heard my designer, Juan, spent days researching footprints!

You can see them from the very beginning of the book.

IMG_0551

He has changed some fonts which gives the book a clean look. There are animal prints on some of the page background.

IMG_0554

Isn’t it nice?

The book made me realize why I love what I do so much. And I am so fortunate to be able to work with such a talented team.

I heard that the texts have been sent to an expert pattern checker. I don’t know how it is done, but I truly hope there won’t be much issues on my patterns.

The book will be sent out for printing in March and will be out in summer from Search Press.


4 responses to “Update on Safari book

  1. Julie Henn says:

    Wow! It’s looking fabulous! Not long, now!

  2. chrissieknits says:

    It looks awesome! You must be very proud – and rightly so.

Leave a Reply

