knits by sachi

Three little pigs

on February 17, 2014

Last year, I created characters from fairy tales.

I wanted their appearance simple and bit silhouette like, so I did not embroider eyes. They have no facial expression.

You can say this is Steiner approach. In Steiner education, dolls are made very simple in order to allow the child playing with it to improve or strengthen imagination and creativity.

They can be enjoyed as room ornaments, too.

fairy tales

This year, I am creating characters with a little different approach.

This is the first one; Three little pigs.
The wolf doesn’t look big and bad, but I decided it is ok.

IMG_0541

Since the animals are depicted like humans in this story, I thought this style suits them better.
They are still simple, but a little more features are added.

Yes, I am going for a cute look.

I find this story very interesting.
And I love the rhyme.

“Little pig, little pig, let me come in.”
“No, no, not by the hair on my chinny chin chin.”
“Then I’ll huff, and I’ll puff, and I’ll blow your house in.”

The story has everything you need to entertain children.

I still don’t know what “Not by the hair of my chinny chin chin” means. I have read it in Japanese, but the translation was even more confusing. I will just leave it.

The story may have brothers’ personality wrong. The biggest brother is usually cautious and clever. He would build a brick house. The younger ones tend to be more easy going and cheeky.
Well, in my household anyway.

Do you remember how this story ends?

Some says the wolf tries to come down from the chimney and got cooked in the pigs’ cauldron and eaten by the pigs. How awful! And I thought pigs are vegetarian, no?

I like the more gentle finish, wolf running away with a little sore bottom and never even thinks about returning to the pigs.

It is sad that someone has to play the bad guy.

This set works well as toys. I enjoyed the project very much.

And there are more to come, of course.


5 responses to “Three little pigs

  1. Cheryl says:

    I like the cute look!

  2. knitsbysachi says:

    Thank you! They can accompany story time, and I thought children would like this style.

  3. They are utterly adorable! I love the pigs 🙂

  4. […] Three little pigs (knitsbysachi.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

