knits by sachi

Knitted German gnomes

on February 15, 2014

img_0535.jpg2

Many years ago, I saw funny looking knitted gnomes at my friend’s house.

I believe they are traditional German gnomes called “Zwerge”. My German friend said many people knit them in her country and even her uncle knows how to make them.

I loved the quirky looks and I wanted to have the pattern. I searched through internet and in libraries, but my efforts were to no avail.

So, I decided to make some on my own.

I think these gnomes are a little like flower fairies and, there are mountain flower gnomes, moss gnomes and berry gnomes. There may be earth gnomes and wind gnomes.

The knitted gnome I saw was much bigger than mine. There may be colour rules of which gnome should wear which colour.

But I decided to make them the way I like.

They cheer me up on a rainy day like this.


6 responses to “Knitted German gnomes

  1. Marina says:

    So cute! Are you sharing/selling a pattern for them? 🙂

  2. aw they are lovely! Id love one of those. A great story behind them as well 🙂

  3. lmjapan says:

    These are so adorable, especially since they remind me a bit of Snow White’s dwarves.

Leave a Reply

