knits by sachi

St Valentine’s Day

on February 14, 2014

IMG_0290
It is the St. Valentine’s Day today. Do we celebrate it in Japan? Yes!

Funny thing is, it is a bigger celebration in Japan than here in England.

In Japan, it is only women who give presents (mainly chocolates) to men. It may not be true nowadays but Japanese women are usually too shy to express their love. Therefore, Valentine’s Day was thought to be a great opportunity to let women express their feelings.

However, this is a custom that smart chocolate companies created to boost their sales. It has been awfully successful! Now chocolate manufacturers make more than half of their annual sales during the week before Valentine’s Day. Amazing.

I still remember my first chocolate I gave to a boy. I was 10 years old and had a crash on the boy in another classroom.

It was a heart shaped chocolate with peanuts (hope he didn’t have the allergy) I bought secretly for 50 yen (30 p).

I didn’t have a courage to give it to him in person, so my friend helped me.

We went to the same secondary school. We were friends, just friends without romance.

But many years later when I was going through my things at my parents house, I found a letter he wrote when we were in high school. Did I know about this letter?

It sounded very much like a love letter!

Sweet memories.
I don’t know where he lives or how he is doing now. But I allow myself to think about him only on the Valentine’s Day.
img_0490.jpg2


5 responses to “St Valentine’s Day

  1. chrissieknits says:

    That is the cutest Cupid ever!

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Thank you! I had trials and errors for this one. The cupid is knitted in one piece from the feet to the head. I added the heart on the base because he struggled to stand on his own.

  2. Cheryl says:

    I love the cupid! Great job.

  3. lmjapan says:

    That is such a sweet story about the boy you gave a chocolate to on Valentine’s Day. And that he reciprocated with a love letter much later on! I’m sure he thinks of you every Valentine’s Day as well.

Leave a Reply

