knits by sachi

Apple jelly soya scones

on February 5, 2014

My friend, Carol, is an expert in making jams and marmalade.

She makes fantastic apple jelly with home grown apples every year and gives me a pot or two. We love her apple jelly.

Here, it is wearing my crochet jam cover looking rather posh.
IMG_0231

I used the jelly to make muffins yesterday. This time, I decided to experiment with soya flour.

Soya flour is getting popular in Japan. It is protein rich and contains less carbohydrate than wheat flour.

Recipe

Ingredients (to make 9)
1 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup soya flour
1/4 cup bran
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 cup sugar
1 egg
3/4 cup soya milk
1/4 cup butter milk
9 tea spoons of apply jelly

* You can change the proportions of all purpose flour and soya flour. I think if you bake with soya flour alone, your bake will not rise too well and becomes quite hard. I like adding bran to my baking, but you can replace it with flour.
* Soya milk can be replaced with milk. To lower the fat content, I have used butter milk. Yogurt and Fromage frait is all right, too. You can use oil or melted butter instead if you are not too worried about your waist line.

Mix all ingredients in a mixing bowl until combined. Drop half the dough in a muffin cup, drop a tea spoon of jelly and cover the jelly with other half of the dough.

IMG_0457

Bake in a pre-heated 380 F (200 C) oven for 15-20 minutes.
IMG_0386

I am calling them “scones” because the texture is closer to scones than muffins.

My boys ate all of them in one go for breakfast. I couldn’t believe it!
Yes, they are very nice.


Leave a Reply

