knits by sachi

Mini Knitted Woodland

on January 25, 2014

This will be the title for my second book; Mini knitted woodland.

I just received a good news from my editor. She is bringing this book’s publication schedule a little forward. I think I will have two books published by the end of this year!

My woodland is going to look something like this.
DSCF5180

Many little animals!

Since woodland animals are smaller than safari ones, some of my creations are tiny. But patterns are simple and you could make them bigger if you wish.

You can also try some new techniques. I am going to include
*Basic crochet: slip ring and double crochet (single crochet USA) to make a round piece.
*knitting with circular or 4 needles.

I have used these methods to make ponds and trees, but there will be an alternative of using two needles. All animals are knitted flat and sewn together at the end.

I guess some knitters do not crochet. I didn’t until three years ago. And I disliked knitting in rounds with four needles. These are the techniques that I used to avoid as much as I could for many years. But once you get the hang of it, it isn’t at all difficult. If I can do them, you can, too.

There are many ways to enjoy your animals.
woodland collage
You can make it into a dangler charm or make a Noughts-and-crosses (Tic-tac-toe) game with them.
You can make a pin cushion. Change yarn and, you can have fluffy or funky animals.

And this book has a gnome or two with his mushroom house.

woodland mini2

Someone asked if my books were for adults or children. Well, what do you think?


6 responses to “Mini Knitted Woodland

  1. Julie Henn says:

    Yayyy!!!!!! TWO books – can’t wait! Your little creations bring out the child in me, their appeal spans every age! You are so clever. Congratulations! =^..^=

  2. These are so lovely! I think adults can appreciate this as much as children 🙂

  3. lmjapan says:

    Wow, two books by the end of year, that is SO awesome, congratulations! I think your book can be enjoyed by any age group….I’m 37 and I just love looking at all your creations on your blog. Can’t wait until your book comes out!

Leave a Reply

