knits by sachi

The Handweavers Studio

on January 23, 2014

Using materials with good quality is essential for my craft, but they may not come easy sometimes.

I struggled to find fine yarn for my doll making. I wanted single-ply undyed yarn and hand dye it myself with plants when needed. My dolls’ hair is made this way.
SCAN0041

Most yarns for knitting are plied to give their strength. And single-ply yarn will curl to one direction unless it is treated after spun. I asked fellow doll makers but they were all using normally plied yarn for knitting.

It was more than 10 years ago. Online shops were not fully developed and, I was a computer illiterate anyway.

But by pure luck, I found this shop in London. It is called “The Handweavers Studio”.

photo 2

It is an amazing shop! I show you inside.
photo 2
All these fibre!
photo 4
photo 5
photo 1

I was in heaven! You can easily forget yourself in these piles of wool.
Weaving wool for my craft, why didn’t I think of that? You can use all these fibre and yarns for many other craft of course. They have many interesting yarns, fibre, dyes, books and tools.

There is a workroom at the back of the shop and they regularly run workshops and classes.
photo 2

If you have a chance to visit London, it is a fantastic place to visit. Oh, you must visit the shop! You can also shop online or contact them by phone or e-mails. Here is the shop website:
http://www.handweavers.co.uk/

I recently bought Boucle yarn for my gnome. He will be in my second book, “Mini knitted woodland”.
IMG_0229


2 responses to “The Handweavers Studio

  1. Cheryl says:

    What a wonderful looking shop. I would love to have an hour or two there.

Leave a Reply

