knits by sachi

New voyage

on January 1, 2014

New voyage

A Happy New Year!

2013 was certainly an eventful year, but a new year arrived and I am looking forward to challenging something new.

One of the challenges is photography.

I had a great experience in a studio last year observing a professional photographer working. He also taught me many tips.
https://knitsbysachi.wordpress.com/tag/photograpy/
His advice were very easy to follow and I was amazed to know that you could improve your photographs considerably without any expensive equipment.

And I finally bought myself a Digital SLR (single lens reflex) camera.

It is not too expensive, en entry level camera. It seems to be able to do many things that my compact cannot do, but at the same time, I have a lot to learn.

The first day, I took this photo.

IMG_0026
You may not notice here, but the guys in front is slightly blurry.

Now this is a new problem I encountered. With a compact camera, I didn’t need to worry about focusing.
I discovered that with SLR autofocus could be really annoying. If the subject is only ever slightly away from the focus point, it can be blurry.

And of course, I googled how to fix this. You could
1. Press your shutter button half-way to activate autofocus and then recompose
2. Switch to manual after autofocusing
3. Use back-button autofocusing
according to Steve Berardi, naturalist photographer.

It was also in the magazine “Photography for beginners” 25 photography secrets.
Ok, I am not the only one struggling with this. That made me feel better.

I tried the first tip and I think it worked. The first bigger photo in this blog is my second try. Every one appears more clear.

I am a little clever than yesterday.

It must sound comical to an experienced photographer, but I am taking one step at a time.

I am determined to develop my photography skill. Maybe I will invest in a clever editing software someday, too.

Life is so exciting.


3 responses to “New voyage

  1. New voyage says:

    […] New voyage […]

  2. Julie Henn says:

    You must be a fast learner – the top pic is perfect, but then you DO have amazing subjects to photograph!!

Leave a Reply

