knits by sachi

Sneak preview

on December 27, 2013

Sneak preview

I received the draft of my book from the editor before Christmas.

It is a homework because I have to check all the texts, but it must be the best Christmas present I have ever received in my life.

This is my first ever book. I had no idea how to write a craft book, but my editor is guiding me step by step with lots of patience.

You need to start from somewhere, right?

Early this year, we had the first editorial meeting. We decided what would go in the book with all my animals on the table. My book has 96 pages and we made a plan for each spread. Unlike fiction books without photos, craft books need to be planned well throughout from relatively early stage.

The editor gave me the first draft without texts or photos.

DSCF5354

Then, I sent her the patterns. She placed the patterns.

DSCF5356

Then, the photo shoots. She had the photo lists carefully made so that we wouldn’t forget anything. (Please see my previous blog if you are interested.)
https://knitsbysachi.wordpress.com/2013/11/21/photo-shoots/
Now all the texts are in place. I am checking patterns and writing. I am also adding my drawings(!) to make it as easy as possible for readers to understand the assembling steps and tips.

Photographs came out very beautiful. Now, I am going to make it into a good craft book for everyone to enjoy.


4 responses to “Sneak preview

  1. Julie Henn says:

    What an exciting process!!

  2. Cheryl says:

    Congratulations! How neat is that. Cheryl

Leave a Reply

