knits by sachi

Fantastic Christmas cake

on December 26, 2013

935276_413859678744323_2032839565_n
I just fell in love with this cake and I had to share it with you.
This is made by my sister in Tokyo. She is not professionally trained, but she is very good at cooking and baking. You can see that already.

When I was a child whipping cream was just coming into the market. Most cakes were covered with butter creams. In kindergarten on my birthdays, I was given a piece of cake with butter cream and a glace cherries on top. It was very sweet and heavy, and I cannot say it was my favorite.

The first time when I discovered the whipped cream, I could not believe there was such a delightful thing on earth. It was so light and pleasantly sweet. I wanted to sleep in it!

It was 40 years ago now. We can find anything in supermarkets, We have an abundance of delicious food. But sadly, it became more difficult to experience such a special moment.

Her cake reminded me that excitement I had forgotten for many years.

1484200_413859615410996_367135541_n

And Santas! They are so cute! I certainly got inspiration for my craft from them. Yes, I am going to knit them next year.

She lives in Tokyo and I didn’t get to taste the cake of course, but her photos made me feel very happy.

I had a very nice Christmas.


4 responses to “Fantastic Christmas cake

  1. […] Fantastic Christmas cake (knitsbysachi.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Fantastic Christmas cake (knitsbysachi.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

