knits by sachi

Waldorf doll

on December 16, 2013

Waldorf doll

Here is my son aged two and a life-sized doll I made for him.

Parents buy teddies for boys but not dolls. Some of us even get worried when boys show interest but I think there is nothing wrong for boys to play with dolls.

Boys do find comfort in dolls and funny thing is, you don’t have to tell them be gentle and not to wrestle with them.

I chose Waldorf dolls for my children.

A Waldorf doll (also called Steiner doll) is a soft doll used in Waldorf education. It is made of natural materials with simple expression on its face in order to allow the child to improve or strengthen imagination and creativity. I think the name came from the location of the first Steiner school in Germany.

The body is made of cotton stockinette and stuffed with wool fleece. Wool is rolled into a ball for the head, log shape for the limbs before it is stuffed so that the doll is soft but firm at the same time. It has the very real feel of the human flesh.

The dolls come in different sizes. Usually 20, 30, 40, 50 cm. It is recommended to give the younger child the bigger doll.

If you would like to try making, the best thing is to find a tutor who can show you each step. You can also find making kits and tutorials on internet.

Since my children are much bigger now, I make dolls for my own enjoyment. It is fun to dress them with gorgeous hand knits made with hand-dyed, hand-spun yarn.

SCAN0041

The doll in the first photo is unusually big with 55 cm in length . It is as big as 3 month to 6 month baby!
I keep him dressed in my boys’ old baby clothes.


5 responses to “Waldorf doll

  1. Tammie Hill says:

    You are so talented! I enjoy see your works of art! 🙂

  2. Cheryl says:

    Very cute!

  3. […] Waldorf doll (knitsbysachi.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

