knits by sachi

Becoming a true artist

on December 5, 2013

Becoming a true artist

My 16-year-old son came home a little disappointed yesterday. He received B+ on his art homework he had worked on for 2 weeks.

If this work is B+, I would surely fail his art class!

But I guess the teacher was not looking for an observational drawing. She wanted him to be more adventurous and try out other materials, be more avant garde. There was her notes on the back. “Try raising off the surface, try screen printed stencils or collaged geometric patterns.”

Wow! It seems that the standard of his class is very high.

I think my son did try a bit to make the drawing interesting. The lines on her cheek was his attempt. I thought he had forgotten to erase them. They were a bit distracting and confusing and were not helping the work look better.

But he is a fantastic artist. This is another homework he did.

SCAN0093

He got B on it.

I think he came to a point where he needs to explore more and find his own style. It isn’t easy.

He is getting some ideas from other artists.

SCAN0095
SCAN0096

I am looking forward to what would come out from his struggle. When he found himself, it would be his true art.


2 responses to “Becoming a true artist

  1. Cheryl says:

    I agree with you wholeheartly. Beautiful work!

Leave a Reply

