knits by sachi

Having a go at crochet

on December 4, 2013

DSCF4027

Spot the difference from the previous photo? Yes, the igloo.

I started crochet only a couple of years ago. I had done a variety of crafts, but for some reason I hadn’t got around to learning the skill. May be I was put off by all the abbreviations which looked so complicated.

And the difference between the US style and the UK style! Why in the world don’t we use the same ones? They are so similar yet so different.

British vs American English Crochet abbreviations
UK …………………….. US
double crochet (dc) ……… single crochet (sc)
half treble (htr) ……….. half double crochet (hdc)
treble (tr) …………… double crochet (dc)
double treble (dtr) ………. treble (tr)
triple treble (trtr) ……. double treble (dtr)

See what I mean? I hate this.
But crochet has given my work another dimension. Crochet is utterly wonderful and as addictive as knitting.

I made these stars of polar bear project with crochet. I am not too good at crochet yet and hope the pattern is correct. It is in UK abbreviations.

Stars
Large
Make a slip ring.
Rnd1: 1ch, 7dc in ring, pull end to close ring, ss in 1ch.
Rnd2: 1ch, 1ch in same dc as join, 2dc in each dc, ss to the first dc. 14 sts
Rnd3: *Make 4 ch, miss next ch, ss, 1tr, 1dtr in each ch, miss 2dc of the centre piece, ss to the next dc; repeat * to end and fasten off.

Small
Make a slip ring.
Rnd1: 1ch, 6dc in ring, pull end to close ring, ss in 1ch. 6 sts
Rnd2: *Make 3 ch, miss nesc ch, ss, 1ci in each ch, miss 1 dc of the centre piece, ss to the next dc; repeat * to end and fasten off.

Hide all yarn ends inside the stars. Attach invisible thread to the stars and hang them on the wall.

I also made this pin cushion with crochet.

Fotor120411592

and this treestump

DSCF2809


4 responses to “Having a go at crochet

  1. Amy Snow says:

    Great job on the crocheted igloo and stars! I must agree that US crochet terms vs. UK terms is very aggravating, and I don’t know why they are different!

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Thank you! We all know it is so confusing and nothing has done about it. Single in the UK is double in the US. We call the fist floor ground floor and the second floor the first floor. I found it strange when I first moved to England.

Leave a Reply

