knits by sachi

Writing patterns

on November 28, 2013

My Facebook friend has sent me this photo.

1471955_10151707262756507_2096831189_n

It is so encouraging to know that some knitters are enjoying my patterns. This photo means so much to me.

I am still very new to publishing patterns. Yes, I have been writing patterns for some time, but they were only for myself for future references and have been kept in my computer quietly.

It is daunting to show my patterns to other knitters. It is very scary.

It takes a lot to write up a pattern. The stitch counts have to be always right. The sewing instructions have to be clear and easy to understand. I quite often struggle on describing the assembling steps.

It is not easy to be working on patterns on your own and have no pattern checker. I have been making mistakes although I had checked them over and over before saving them as PDF.

But last night, I found that working with editorial team can be tricky, too.

You may get the drift. I have sad news. The Polar Bear pattern in Knit Now contains a mistake.

In baby bear row 12, I originally wrote, dec 1 st at both ends. It was changed to k2tog, k to last 2 sts, k2tog during the editing process. It would have worked if this row was a k row, but it is p row, so it should have been p2tog, p to last 2 sts, p2tog.

It is very difficult to spot something like this unless you knit the pattern yourself again. I happened to notice it last night when I was making another bear for a gift.

I proof read the pattern before publication and I need to be responsible as a designer. I am truly sorry if I caused you a headache.

But I am learning everyday. I will be a better designer with experiences.

So please please forgive me and let me write more for you.

DSCF4027The bear lost the stars in editing, too. I wonder if you want the crochet pattern.


9 responses to “Writing patterns

  1. Julie Henn says:

    Ah Sachi, don’t worry too much about that, I’m not as clever a knitter as you, but most knitters can work around printing errors, and the magazines usually publish corrections. I’m just sorry it happened on your first publication – I made the baby bears figuring out the error!! I just LOVE your patterns – I have already made your generous free pattern of the bunny in a stocking and two more Miss Noel girls – my Christmas tree is going to look FAB this year with all these new additions! Yes, I’d love the star pattern! =^..^=

  2. knitsbysachi says:

    Thank you so much, Julie. I am glad that you worked around the error! I would always love to see your creations. Send me more photos!! It is frustrating when things don’t go right. Yes, it is sad it happened to my first article. But I learned a lot from it and it will surely help my book. I will post the star pattern soon. I am not too good at crochet, but I did my best.

  3. Carol says:

    Although I haven’t made one of your patterns yet they are all just wonderful!! I agree with Julie mistakes happen no matter how many times something gets looked at or made. We are just so thrilled that you are willing to take the time to write down and publish your treasures. Even the most seasoned designer has mistakes and the magazine or publishing company puts out the correction as well as a lot of knitters figure it out themselves. Please keep sharing your designs with us and be more kind to yourself you are a wonderful designer and knitter!!!! 🙂 Thank you.

    • knitsbysachi says:

      Thank you so much, Carol. I won’t be discouraged by these mistakes because I have knitters like you who are very kind and appreciate my works. Yes, I will keep on creating!

  4. kim says:

    I have this pattern in the magazine and spotted the mistake. What I cant work out is it knitted on straight needles,?

    • knitsbysachi says:

      I know, I have told them more than twice about it. What is a little annoying is my original pattern was OK, but error was made at the last editing. I am sorry. Yes, all my patterns are knitted flat and sewn up at the end. I do not like knitting small things with circular needles or 4 needles. Thank you for contacting me.

  5. Claire Fleming says:

    Hi, I have just come across these gorgeous little polar bears and would love to knit them! Every Christmas I knit little things for my daughters to give out to their friends – I have done penguins,, hedgehogs and owls to date, and these would be perfect! Can you please tell me where I can get the pattern? Many thanks x

    • knitsbysachi says:

      These were in the Knit Now magazine ages ago. I could not find the PDF any more, but I can send you the original pattern (without editing or photos) through e-mail if you would like. If you have my Safari book, you can also knit the mummy polar bear using the panda pattern.

Leave a Reply

