knits by sachi

The best Choco chip cookies

on November 9, 2013

The best Choco chip cookies

My son worked very hard this week for his GCSE. English and Maths are out of the way now.

I baked these for him yesterday to celebrate. I thought it would be nice to find homemade cookies waiting for him when he returned from school.

I think the cookies turned very well this time. I have tried many recipes in the past, but this one became my favorite.

I am writing in here for my own record, too.

Basic chocolate chip cookies

Ingredients

50g unsalted butter or margarine at room temperature

45g shortening or vegetable fat at room temperature

220g flour

80g dark brown sugar

50g sugar

1 egg

80g semisweet chocolate pieces

In a mixing bowl beat butter and vegetable fat with an electric mixer until smooth. Add the brown sugar, sugar, egg. Beat the mixture until thoroughly combined. Add flour and mix with spatula. Add chocolate.

Roll the dough into small balls and place them onto a cookie sheet. Squash them down a little to make the top flat. Bake in a 375 F (180 C) oven for 10 to 15 minutes. Makes about 30.

For the dark cookies, I added 25g cocoa powder and reduced flour to 190g. I used white choco pieces.

Cookies are rather dainty looking and I think they are nice for presents,too.

They are yummy!


Leave a Reply

