knits by sachi

Knitted bead bracelet

on November 5, 2013

Knitted bead bracelet

I have lots of oddments of yarns. In very small quantities.

But some of them are hand dyed and hand spun. There is no way I can get rid of them.

This project is perfect for little left overs.

You need

Oddments of yarns

A pair of 2.75mm to 3mm (US2-3) knitting needles

Stuffing (wool fleece, toy stuffing or cotton wool from chemist)

wood beads

fine elastic cord for beading

How to make

For 4-ply yarn I would

cast on 14 sts. Starting with p row, st/st 7 rows. Break yarn, thread sts through a sewing needle and draw up tightly.

For DK yarn

Cast on 12 sts. Starting with p row, st/st 6 rows. Break yarn, thread sts through a sewing needle and draw up tightly.

For Aran yarn

Cast on 10 sts. Starting with p row, st/st 5 rows. Break yarn, thread sts through a sewing needle and draw up tightly.

Sew the seam, stuff the beads. Work a gathering thread along the cast on edge and pull tightly.
You can change the size by increasing or decreasing the stitches and rows you work.

Thread beads onto an elastic cord adding wood beads between them.

You can make funky bracelet or chic one.

If you know how to crochet you can make crochet beads version. You may find the beads a bit heavy, but still they are very pretty. Here is a necklace made with crochet made by a member of my local spinning club.

DSCF4005

Isn’t it a good idea for a present?


5 responses to “Knitted bead bracelet

  1. I’m sitting here surrounded by bits of wool having in-knitted a scarf made for me by my mother that is too long and too itchy. Thanks to you I now have a better way to use this beautiful wool 😄

  2. My daughter is the same but I keep making her scarves, just in case I get it right one day!

  3. Reblogged this on Mama makes and bakes and commented:
    My project for this weekend!!

Leave a Reply

