knits by sachi

Warm breakfast

on October 28, 2013

Warm breakfast

My boys usually have cereals for breakfast, but sometimes I bake muffins and pancakes. It is nice to have warm breakfast in Winter.

No time for baking in the morning? But it takes less than 10 minutes to mix ingredients.

Memorize this easy recipe or stick the recipe on your fridge door until you know it by heart.

Basic muffin: makes 12
Ingredients
1 3/4 cups flour
1/3 cup sugar
2 tsp baking powder
3/4 cup milk
1/4 cup melted butter, margarine or oil
1 beaten egg

Use measuring cups and do not weigh ingredients. This recipe does not require accuracy.

You can add dried fruits, chocolate chips or chopped nuts if you would like. Here I added 2tbsp of cocoa powder and dark chocolate chunks. I also reduced flour to 1 and 1/2 cups and added 1/4 cup bran.

Mix all the dry ingredients and wet ingredients and bake in muffin cups for 20 minutes, gas mark 5. ( 400 F, 200 C)

That’s all.

I heard a lot of teenagers miss breakfast, but not my boys. 9 of these muffins go in one sitting.

Nice warm muffins are irresistible.

I discovered baking works to improve the relationships in a family. When my boys are going through a typical teenager phase of “Don’t talk to me, mum”, I bake a cake or biscuits before they come home.

I say nothing. But they feel they are loved and cared and I know that is all they need.

Happy Baking.


Leave a Reply

