knits by sachi

My handmade superhero

on October 21, 2013

SCAN0074

Halloween is approaching. I used to moan about all those horribly coloured sweets and trouble dressing up my children. Thankfully my children were not so keen on dressing up, but one occasion, my older son wanted to be one of the Japanese superhero characters called Masked Rider.

I looked for the costume in shops but couldn’t find any. So, I decided to make one.

It was rather a complicated project. My sewing skill was quite limited then, so I took some sewing lessons. The finished piece wasn’t perfect, but I have to say I was and still am very pleased with this.

It is utterly fantastic to make something for someone you love, only for that special person to have a special moment.

My son is 16 now. He is about to face the real world and fight against real enemies.

But I hope he will treasure this happy memory as much as I do.


Leave a Reply

