knits by sachi

Call for Submissions

on March 24, 2014

IMG_0923

I receive the call for submissions regularly from Knit Now magazine. This time it is for the Autumn 2014 issues, from September to November.

Already! We haven’t had a summer yet, but I guess the magazine needs to plan issues way ahead.

They are open to any ideas of patterns; accessories, garments for all ages and genders, homewares and toys.
They also give us topics or themes. This time, they are looking for

The Collections:
* Down to the Woods: designs with foxes, owls and hares.
* Go Big or Go Home: The oversized sweater and accessories and garments that are quick to knit with chunky yarn.
* Celtic Inspirations: Cables and colourwork inspired by the Celtic tradition.

So, I have been thinking of the autumn. Woodland and red leaves. The fox and the raccoon above is my new design.

I also made squirrels.
IMG_0917

I have owls, too, and some knits of Halloween characters and ornaments.
It is so hard to choose!

I still have two more weeks until the deadline. Let’s see what I can come up with.
It is so fun to design toys.

If you are a knit designer or have your original designs you would like to publish, please take a look at this link here.


2 responses to “Call for Submissions

  1. Julie Henn says:

    I love them ALL!! I just LOVE your little creations! I’ve tried other designer’s patterns, but really enjoy yours the most – they are small (so quick to make), straightforward patterns to follow, and so unique and quirky. Please don’t ever attempt to change your style to follow trends, yours stand out from the rest. You manage to convey personality in every piece you design, which make YOURS unique, in my opinion! You have certainly awoken my “knitting bug” again, I can’t wait to get to my needles every day now!!

    • knitsbysachi says:

      What a fantastic comment! I am truly touched! I am saving your comment in my file and I would like to share it on my website sometime.
      I am very glad that you are enjoying my patterns. My friend taught me the basic knit and purl some years ago and, I haven’t had a professional training as some of the knit designers. That may be why my patterns are simple and easy. As for the style, I don’t think I am capable of changing it!
      I had worried that my patterns might be too fiddly, but having seen your photos gave me great confidence. Thank you so so much!

Leave a comment